Severe Storm and Flood Recovery Assistance

The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) assists in recovery efforts in the communities affected by severe storms, floods, and other disasters. For general questions and assistance, please contact DOL's National Contact Center at 1-866-487-2365.

Department of Labor support includes the following income and job assistance:

  • DOL's National Contact Center
    1-866-4-USA-DOL (1-866-487-2365)
  • Unemployment Insurance (UI)
    The Federal-State Unemployment Insurance Program provides unemployment benefits to eligible workers who are unemployed through no fault of their own.
  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA)
    DUA provides financial assistance to individuals whose employment or self-employment has been lost or interrupted as a direct result of a major disaster declared by the President of the United States and who are not eligible for regular unemployment insurance (UI) benefits.
  • National Dislocated Worker Grants (DWGs)
    Impacted states can apply for DWG funds that can be used to create temporary employment opportunities to assist with cleanup and recovery efforts.
  • Occupational Safety and Health
    The Department's Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) makes technical assistance and resources available to help protect those participating in cleanup and recovery efforts. Call OSHA toll-free at 1-800-321-6742 with any questions.
    • Learn how to keep workers safe during cleanup and recovery operations following hurricanes.

Cleanup and Recovery Safety and Health

Please review these OSHA fact sheets on natural disaster recovery:

Service Contract Act
The Service Contract Act (SCA), which generally applies to federal or District of Columbia contracts for clean-up activities following a disaster, requires contractors and subcontractors performing services on prime contracts in excess of $2,500 to pay service employees in various classes no less than the wage rates and fringe benefits found prevailing in the locality, or the rates (including prospective increases) contained in a predecessor contractor's collective bargaining agreement.

Davis-Bacon Regulations for Federal Contractors
The Davis-Bacon Act requires all contractors and subcontractors performing work on federal or District of Columbia construction contracts or federally assisted contracts in excess of $2,000 to pay their laborers and mechanics not less than the prevailing wage rates and fringe benefits for corresponding classes of laborers and mechanics employed on similar projects in the area. In addition to the Davis-Bacon Act itself, Congress has added prevailing wage provisions to approximately 60 statutes which assist construction projects through grants, loans, loan guarantees, and insurance. These are referred to as “Related Acts.”

  • Recording Hours Worked
    Download the DOL Timesheet App to record the number of hours you have worked and calculate the amount you may be owed by your employer.

Additional Resources

The Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from and mitigate all hazards. Individuals in declared counties can register online for disaster assistance at or call FEMA's toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362); for the hearing impaired TTY 800-462-7585. explains what actions to take when you receive a hurricane watch or warning alert from the National Weather Service for your local area. It also provides tips on what to do before, during, and after a hurricane. is providing a one-stop page for hurricane-related information from federal agencies.

As the official benefits website of the federal government, provides citizens with easy, online access to over 1,000 government benefit and assistance programs from 17 partner agencies.

The mission of is to ease the burden on disaster survivors by helping them apply for disaster assistance from 70 programs at 17 federal agencies.